Awk City.

20Apr10

So, the other night I went on a date with a guy, we’ll call him Eduardo for purposes of this blog. He was Mexican. As my friend Marcy Jones would say, it was “awk city.”

He picked me up to go out for dinner. He kept telling me he wanted to take me out for “authentic” Mexican food. I was  a little hesitant because of my diet restrictions. But he seemed very interested in my Border Beat class and he wanted to kind of give me a taste of his culture.

So, on the car ride to the restaurant, we started talking about our lives. He asked me about my family, I asked him about his.  I answered one sister, he answered six brothers and sisters! He went on about how he was very close with them and how although he was annoyed by them sometimes, he loved them and he couldn’t imagine what his life would be without them. I started to wonder how my life would be with a big family. How it is so different for him and for me. We literally were raised completely different.

So, we get to the restaurant, Rosa’s Mexican Food. Eduardo keeps telling me that I am going to get amazing authentic Sonoran Mexican food. Everything was going completely normal, normal for my dating standards. We walked in, got seated, ordered drinks, talked about that on the surface stuff that breaks the ice. It was alright. Not too exciting, but not all that boring. Then we all of the sudden take a trip to awk city…on the express train.

While we were talking, enjoying our chips and salsa, a man walks up to the table. Now, I have never seen him before, but Eduardo just looks absolutely ecstatic. He stands up, says some Spanish phrase and hugs the man. They start talking. Now, this next part is a blur because I was one margarita in AND I can’t speak a word of Spanish. They were talking for what seemed like forever, who knows about what. It was awkward because I could not contribute anything to the conversation. Normally, and this is even with complete strangers, given that the dialect is English, I can jump in and engage in a conversation with anyone. But this was another story. So I sat in awk city, population: me, Eduardo and this man. I think Eduardo introduced me to him but I would never know because of the language barrier.

When the conversation was finally over, Eduardo sat back down, acting like nothing happened, like it was no big deal that he had been talking to this person for the last 20 minutes in a different language and left me sitting there like the confused white girl. The rest of the date was kind of a blur as I was not fully able to get over the rudeness from earlier in the evening.

All in the all, the date was a bust. It took a slow train to awk city and never left. I don’t think I will be buying a ticket anytime soon.



No Responses Yet to “Awk City.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment