It’s not how it is in the Addams Family.

27Apr10

So last week, Jocelyn Bresnick and I went to a place downtown called Casa Vicente, a Mexican food restaurant that holds tango dancing every Wednesday night from 7 p.m. to 10 p.m.

Now, when I think of tango dancing, I immediately think of the stereotypical dramatic side to side, Addams-familyesque gliding across the floor, with brisk and fast moves back and forth. However, it was simply not the case!

When we walked in, people were dancing slowly in the middle of the restaurant near the bar. I went up to the bartender, thinking because we were early that maybe we had caught the last end of the ballroom dancing. “Excuse me, when does the tango lesson start?” I asked. He gave me a pretty odd look and added the obvious “you’re looking at it,” comment to make me feel even more stupid.

I literally had no idea it was tango. It was so subdued and calm. The males were not forcefully moving their female partners back and forth, nor did the female have a red rose between her teeth! What was going on here? Where’s the tango?

What I learned is that tango dancing can be done in many different ways. What I did notice, however, after careful consideration, is that no matter the style of tango, there is always a deep connection between both partners. Never during any moment in the dances did the dancers lose eye contact with one another. They weren’t looking at their feet but were fixated on eachother, almost looking at the other for the next move across the floor.

Although it would have been entertaining if they had the rose stems!



No Responses Yet to “It’s not how it is in the Addams Family.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment